Skip to main content

Smals recycles old ICT material through Out of Use

In future, Smals will have its discarded hardware recycled by Out of Use. So the equipment will find a new purpose, or be securely destroyed. The proceeds go to Natuurpunt.

As an ICT organisation for public institutions, Smals has a great deal of ICT equipment. But once equipment has been written off, the organisation must be sure that the material does not just end up on the rubbish heap and that it contains no old data. To achieve this, Smals this week signed an open-ended contract with Out of Use, the recycling specialist that will collect the equipment from Smals and repurpose or recycle it.

During recycling the equipment is completely dismantled, so that certain parts or materials can be recovered. Depending on the treatment, hard disks can be physically destroyed or dismantled using a degausser which wipes the data with an alternating magnetic field.

"From 100 per cent electronic waste we recycle 89.96 per cent into secondary raw materials," says Mark Adriaenssens of Out of Use. "Because we mainly recycle IT materials, we also offer several levels of data destruction, from software data wiping to mechanical perforation, degaussing, or shredding of the hardware. In light of the new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), this gives significant reassurance to the previous owners of decommissioned material. Leading ICT players like Smals are an excellent example for other businesses."

For every item of hardware, Smals receives documentation to show how it has been processed. The proceeds from recycling go to Recycling for Natuurpunt, who plant new trees.

“For every repurposed or recycled item we get a certificate that guarantees the destruction of all the data,” says Smals CEO Frank Robben. At the same time, we are extending our social mission by supporting social protection and health in a fully-fledged CSR policy, in terms of good governance, working conditions, environment, fair business practices and community involvement. For example, Smals uses 100% green electricity and keeps down the energy bill in its data centres with innovative air and water cooling. We fully reimburse commuting by public transport and sort our waste conscientiously. The specialist processing of ICT material, the proceeds from which we now donate to Natuurpunt for tree planting, is another very tangible return to society," concludes Frank Robben.

(Source: DataNews, 24/08/17

Smals Out of Use

Aller au contenu principal

Smals recycle le vieux matériel TIC par Out of Use

Smals fera désormais appel à Out of Use pour recycler ses matériels IT dépréciés. Ainsi, ces appareils auront une nouvelle vie ou seront détruits en toute sécurité. Les recettes iront à Natuurpunt.

En tant qu’organisation de services ICT pour les institutions publiques, Smals utilise de nombreux appareils ICT. Mais une fois ces appareils dépréciés, l’organisation doit veiller à ce qu’ils n’atterrissent pas simplement dans la benne à déchets et qu’ils ne contiennent plus aucune donnée. Pour accomplir cela, Smals a signé cette semaine un contrat à durée indéterminée avec Out of Use, une entreprise spécialisée dans le recyclage qui collectera les matériels de Smals afin de leur offrir une 2e vie ou de les recycler.

Le recyclage consiste à démanteler entièrement les appareils pour récupérer certaines composantes ou matériaux. Selon le traitement choisi, les disques durs sont soit détruits physiquement, soit démontés avec un démagnétiseur qui efface les données dans un champ magnétique alternatif.

« Au départ de 100 % de déchets électroniques, nous récupérons 89,96 % de matières premières secondaires », précise Mark Adriaenssens, directeur de Out of Use. « Comme nous recyclons principalement des matériels ICT, nous proposons également plusieurs niveaux de suppression des données : effacement des données à l’aide d’un logiciel spécialisé, perforation mécanique, démagnétisation ou broyage de l’appareil. Dans le cadre de la nouvelle règlementation RGPD (Règlement général sur la protection des données personnelles), c’est une garantie essentielle pour les anciens propriétaires des matériels mis hors service. Les acteurs ICT de premier plan comme Smals sont un exemple à suivre pour les autres entreprises. »

Smals reçoit un certificat prouvant le traitement effectué pour chaque appareil individuel. Les recettes du recyclage vont à Recycleren voor Natuurpunt, une association impliquée dans la reforestation.

Pour chaque réaffectation ou recyclage de matériel IT, nous recevons un certificat attestant de la suppression de toutes les données, » dit Frank Robben, directeur général de Smals. « Par ailleurs, nous prolongeons également notre mission sociétale de soutien de la santé et de la sécurité sociale en appliquant une politique RSE à part entière sur le plan des bonnes pratiques de gouvernance, des conditions de travail, de l’environnement, de l’honnêteté en affaires et de l’engagement sociétal. Smals utilise par ex. 100% d’énergie verte et réduit la consommation d’électricité de ses datacenters à l’aide de systèmes de refroidissement à eau et à air innovants. Nous remboursons complètement les déplacements domicile-travail par les transports publics des employés et trions méthodiquement nos déchets. Le traitement spécialisé du matériel ICT, dont nous offrons désormais les recettes à Natuurpunt pour planter des arbres, est également une contribution très concrète à la société », conclut Frank Robben.

(Source: DataNews, 24/08/17

Smals Out of Use